Jack Higgins Biography, Family Life and Career

Jack Higgins Biography

Jack Higgins Biography – Jack Higgins was a British author.Henry Patterson, sometimes known as Jack Higgins, was a British author who wrote under as Henry Patterson. He was a popular thriller and spy novelist who sold millions of copies. His 1975 novel The Eagle Has Landed, which was made into a popular 1976 film of the same name, sold more than 50 million copies. His 85 novels have been translated into 55 languages and have sold over 150 million copies worldwide.

Jack Higgins Biography

Henry Patterson was born in Newcastle upon Tyne, England, on July 27, 1929, to an English father and a Northern Irish mother. His mother returned with him to her hometown of Belfast, Northern Ireland, to live with her mother and grandfather on the Shankill Road when his father abandoned them. Patterson, who grew up in Belfast amid religious and political strife, began to read at the age of three when he was assigned to read The Christian Herald to his bedridden grandfather.

Patterson’s family moved to Leeds, West Yorkshire, England, when his mother remarried, and he attended the Roundhay Grammar School for Boys. He was a poor student who graduated with only a few official qualifications. In 1947, he began two years of national service, first with the East Yorkshire Regiment and then as a non-commissioned officer with the Household Cavalry’s Royal Horse Guards Regiment, undertaking border security work on the East German border.

Jack Higgins Family Life

Jack Higgins is a Married man.Higgins met Amy Hewitt while both were studying at the London School of Economics.They were married in 1958.They had four children: Sarah (born 1960), Ruth (born 1962), Sean (born 1965), and Hannah (born 1974).Their daughter Sarah Patterson authored the novel The Distant Summer (1976).The marriage ended in 1984. In 1985, he married his second wife, Denise Palmer. Higgins lived in Jersey, in the Channel Islands.

Jack Higgins Net Worth

Jack Higgins has an estimated Net Worth of $86 Million at the time of his Death.He earns a good fortune from his hard work , which he devotes a lot of time to and where he presents oneself entirely.

Name Jack Higgins
Net Worth   $86 Million
Income Source British author
Yearly Salary / Income $5 Million+
Monthly Salary / Income Under Review
Last Update 2023

Jack Higgins Career

Higgins began writing books in 1959. James Graham was an alias of his. He was able to take time off from teaching to pursue his aim of becoming a full-time author as a result of the increasing success of his early work. Patterson’s early novels, written under his own name (as “Harry Patterson”) and the pseudonyms James Graham, Martin Fallon, and Hugh Marlowe, feature hardened, cynical protagonists, ruthless antagonists, and risky settings.

Patterson authored 35 such novels (often three or four per year) between 1959 and 1974 while developing his craft. East Of Desolation (1968), A Game For Heroes (1970), and The Savage Day (1972) stand out among his early works for their unconventional plots and beautifully described settings (Greenland, the Channel Islands, and Belfast, respectively).

Patterson began writing under the pseudonym Jack Higgins in the late 1960s; his first minor bestsellers, two contemporary thrillers titled The Savage Day and A Prayer for the Dying, were published in the early 1970s, but it wasn’t until the release of his 36th book, The Eagle Has Landed, in 1975 that Higgins’ reputation was cemented. Higgins followed The Eagle Has Landed with a string of suspense novels, several of which included the character Devlin (Touch The Devil, Confessional, The Eagle Has Flown).

Patterson’s third phase commenced in 1992 with the publication of Eye of the Storm, a fictionalised description of an unsuccessful mortar attack on Prime Minister John Major by a nasty young Irish gunman-philosopher named Sean Dillon, hired by an Iraqi millionaire.

Dillon is clearly an amalgamation of Patterson’s previous heroes—Chavasse with his flair for languages, Nick Miller’s familiarity with martial arts and jazz keyboard skills, Simon Vaughan’s Irish roots, facility with firearms, and the cynicism that comes with assuming the responsibility of administering a justice unavailable through the legal system—cast as the protagonist for Patterson’s next series of novels (22 to date, out of 43 published between 1992 and 2017).